Review: Wicked UK Tour 2018

review

Fellow Ozzians!

I recently had the pleasure of attending the Wicked UK Tour at Sunderland Empire Theatre and despite it being my third time seeing the show, I was once again left speechless!

IMG_7352 2

For those of you who have never had the honour and privilege of seeing this show, it tells the tale of Elphaba and Glinda, the witches of Oz, during their University days. It’s an incredibly well-written show with amazing humour. I have seen the show multiple times because it is one of my mam’s favoUrites. The soundtrack is super catchy and very moving.

This time, Amy Ross (Elphaba) delivered an outstanding and spine-tingling performance and one of the best renditions of ‘No Good Deed’ I have ever heard. Her vocals were beyond belief and yet absolutely effortless. Additionally, Helen Woolf (Glinda) delivered a light-hearted and amusing performance as Glinda which changed in the second half to be incredibly moving and sincere.

Overall, this was perhaps the best performance of one of my favourite musicals that I have ever seen.  I bought the tickets almost two years ago and, (thank you past me for your dedication to the arts!) I paid a pretty penny for some excellent seats in the stalls about 5 rows from the front.

IMG_7350 2

I would whole-heartedly recommend, if you are able, splashing out for good seats to this show because it really enhances the experience when you can see the facial expressions of the actors and actresses. It adds another dimension to the performance beyond simply incredible music.

I’m a big theatre fan but I have to say that Wicked is a performance I could watch day in and day out and never get tired of! The costuming is beyond perfect and the brightness of the colouring is exciting. Even the lighting in this show is memorable and it doesn’t require incredible stunts or fireworks to be perfect, it relies heavily on talent which is inspiring.

IMG_7344 2

I thoroughly enjoyed my evening at Wicked and I even indulged in a sneaky Elphaba pre-show cocktail and a pack of stunning Wicked postcards!

IMG_6946.JPG

If you get the chance to catch this show as it makes its rounds then I thoroughly recommend you snap it up! Make a night of it! Wear everything green! Bring green M&Ms but make sure to preorder your ice cream for the interval or you’ll pay for the expensive stuff!

Wicked is still touring the country until December 5th so do try and catch it if you can! ❤

 

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Wicked UK Tour 2018

  1. Wicked just gets better and better.

    Age 12- the first time (2006)

    I don’t know when the 2nd time- that time I know it was better than the 1st time

    Age 19- it was better than the 2nd time (2013)

    Age 22nd- it was better than the 3rd time. So this show gets better each time. That is much time I learn something new and every time. This was in 2016, and this is the Elphaba, Glinda, and Fiyero I remember the most. I was the most vulnerable and emotional this time around- the emotions were at the emotions- I understand the show the most.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Thank you for reading and commenting! ❤ I have to agree with you! Every time I see it I fall more in love! The first time I got to see it was my 18th birthday so it will always hold a special place in my heart. It's a very moving show ❤

      Like

      1. I am emotionally connected to Elphaba, Glinda, and Fiyero: mostly emotionally connected to Elphaba. Elphaba is my all-time favorite musical theatre character.

        The story lines I focus the most one each and every time are the friendship and the love triangle. For whatever reason, each time I keep on overlooking everything else. I don’t mean, I just pay so much attention to Elphaba, Glinda, and Fiyero that I overlook everyone else.

        Wicked sparked my love for musical. My first experience of Wicked was on Broadway and the rest were on tour in Charlotte. Wicked was where I began to understand the emotional side of musicals. Like the show says, I have been changed for better because of Wicked. I have loved Wicked for 12 years.

        Like

Leave a comment